Resource Center

Auto Accidents: Motor Vehicle Accidents

Statute of Limitations (6 years)

Minnesota Statute 65.B ­ Automobile Insurance

Minnesota's No­-Fault Act (What an auto insurer pays regardless of fault)

Any Injury Involving Claims Against State or Municipality Must Give Notice to municipality after loss or injury (180 days)

Workers’ Compensation/ Work Injuries

Notice periods

Specific Injuries:
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.141

  • Unless employer has actual notice, 14 days after injury.
  • If notice is given within 30 days, such notice is sufficient unless it prejudices the employer.
  • If notice is given within 180 days, compensation owed may be reduced by prejudice to employer.
  • If notice given after 180 days, generally no compensation allowed.

Occupational Injuries:
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.151

Within three years after the employee has knowledge of the injury and the injury has resulted in disability.

Minnesota’s Department of Labor and Industry

Information for the injured worker.

What employers or insurers are obligated to provide.

Dog Bites

Statute of Limitations (6 years)

Minnesota Statute 347.22 Damages, owner Liability

Wrongful Death

Statute of Limitations ( 3 years from the date of death, but in no event shall be commenced beyond the time set forth in section 541.076 )

Minnesota Statute 573.02 Action for Death by Wrongful Act; Survival of Actions.

Social Security Disability

Social Security Website:

Social Security Website: Disability Application

Longshore/ Defense Base Act

Notice periods

Specific Injuries:
http://www.dol.gov/owcp/dlhwc/lhwca.htm#912

Unless employer has actual notice, 30 days after injury OR 30 thirty days after the employee or beneficiary is aware, or in the exercise of reasonable diligence or by reason of medical advice should have been aware, of a relationship between the injury or death and the employment.

Occupational Injuries:

Within one year after the employee or claimant becomes aware, or in the exercise of reasonable diligence or by reason of medical advice should have been aware, of the relationship between the employment and the injury.

Filling of Claim

Except as otherwise provided in this section, the right to compensation for disability or death under this Act shall be barred unless a claim therefore is filed within one year after the injury or death. If payment of compensation has been made without an award on account of such injury or death, a claim may be filed within one year after the date of the last payment.

Where to File?

Such claim shall be filed with the deputy commissioner in the Central Case Create site (New York) and thereafter will be handled by the District office in which such injury or death occurred.

http://www.dol.gov/owcp/dlhwc/lscontactmap.htm

United States Department of Labor Website

Frequently Asked Questions

Important Forms ­ LS­201 (Report of Injury); LS­203 (Claim for Compensation)

Duluth Injury Lawyer Forms

Personal Injury

New client packet

Medical authorization

Workers’ Compensation

New client packet

Medical authorization

Additional Resources

Minnesota Bench & Bar

Minnesota District Courts

Minnesota Statutes

We Help Injured People. We Get Results.

We assist injured people with a variety of claims

Call Today

218-722-1488